Chinese New Year Almond Cookies

CNY header

Decided to make some Chinese New Year cookies of my own since I can’t get a hold of them here in the States. It’s my 3rd year away from home and I must say it’s especially hard being away this year now that I’ve already graduated and there’s (basically) nothing to hold me back from returning home. Oh, except the fact that I want and need to find a job here. Anyways…

This cookie recipe is a result of my findings online that I’ve modified. Just so happens, I had leftover almond meal from making almond milk and used that instead of grounded almond and it gives the cookies a more wholesome texture. I will vouch for ground almond if your aim is to recreate what you’re familiar with. But nonetheless, the cookies that came out of the oven was still pretty good!

raw ac

These have a crunch and bite to it rather than the regular melt in your mouth kind (which I actually really avoid because they would get stuck inside and around my mouth).

You’ll need:

  • 100g ground almond/ almond meal
  • 150g all purpose flour
  • 100g baking sugar
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 baking powder
  • good pinch of fine sea salt
  • 100ml corn oil
  • 1 egg yolk, beaten (for egg wash)

1. Begin by first dry frying the ground almond or in my case, almond meal. It results in a more fragrant cookie.

2. Then sieve all your dry ingredients, including salt into a large bowl and combine the almond meal.

3. Use a handheld mixer or a food processor on medium to mix the mixture while slowly adding in the corn oil. I recommend using a processor because the handheld mixer will cause it to get messy and you might end up with a messy counter like mine was when I used it.

4. The dough should come together and be able to hold its shape enough for you to form without it crumbling in your hands. Depending on the humidity, you might need less or more oil for this to happen. I only needed 100ml because it’s very humid in San Francisco at the moment with Karl The Fog visiting.

5. Preheat the oven to 355F or 180C

6. Form the dough into a ball with the palm of your hands and make sure they are no bigger than an inch. Place them on a lined tray with parchment paper or a silicon mat keeping ample space between each cookie balls. I could line about 3 lines of 8 cookie balls on my baking pan.

sizes

Bigger cookie balls don’t work well with this recipe because it’ll expand too wide and become flat instead.

7. Lightly coat each cookie ball with the egg wash using a pastry brush.
Bake for 15-20 minutes, until the cookies turn golden. I found mine to look just about right on the 18th minute.

8. Transfer them babies onto a wire rack to cool further while you continue with the rest of the dough.

9. Once completely cooled, keep it in an airtight container to seal away their freshness!

IMG_4128

If you do try this recipe out, let me know how yours turn out and share your comments and thoughts with me!

This isn’t the best recipe, and there’s still plenty of room to improve on so feel free to share with me recipes that you’ve found for any almond/peanut cookies.

Leave a Reply

