Refreshing and Easy Lemon Sorbet

Hey guys, with the sun shining so bright lately, I’ve noticed spring is doing me good in my backyard. Check out the amount of lemons that have grown back there!

IMG_3340

These beauties were flourishing in my backyard for too long and I noticed that none of my neighbors were helping themselves to it. So, I decided to get myself a basket full of yellow goodies, and make something refreshing with them!

IMG_3387

The main idea that was on the top of my head was, sorbet. I don’t own an ice cream maker, so it made the process really hands on and I must say, it was fun making it! Here’s the recipe below, adapted from Allrecipes.

Lemon Sorbet Recipe

makes 6 servingsLemon sorbet ingredients collage

Ingredients

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup carbonated mineral water

Directions

IMG_3404

Step 1 – Dissolve

  1. In a saucepan, dissolve water and sugar with lemon zest. Bring to a simmer for 5 minutes. Remove from heat and cool. This makes the lemon syrup. 
  2. In a pitcher or a bowl, stir together the lemon syrup with zest, lemon juice and carbonated mineral water.

    IMG_3407

    Step 3 – Transfer

  3. With an ice cream maker, pour and freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Without an ice cream maker, it is ideal to freeze the ice cream in a tall canister or a tall jug.

    IMG_3439

    This is my sorbet in the making after 1.5 hrs in the freezer. See those tiny specs of ice beginning to form?

  4. First, freeze it for 1.5 hours. Take it out, and stir with a whisk or a long cooking chopstick. Return it to the freezer and stir once every hour for the next consecutive 4 hours.  The more times you stir, the more air will be incorporated, resulting in a lighter finished product.
  5. Serve with mint leaves or lemon zest for garnish (optional).

Only 5 easy steps, which makes sorbet so easy to make!

This is how my sorbet looked like.

IMG_3492

I served it to a couple of friends of mine who were visiting from Fresno over the weekend and they both liked it!

Alisha and I

Alisha and I

“This is delicious!” – Alisha

IMG_3513

Sean and I

“It’s really good. Very refreshing and light.” – Sean

With all that hard work, in the end you will be able to enjoy the sweet fruits of labor. Pun intended!

How did yours turn out? Wasn’t it just so light and refreshing?

Should I try making other sorbets? Comment and let me know!

Lemon me eyes collage

Like my page on Facebook and follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

