CookBook Series: Dark Chocolate Guinness Cake with Bailey’s Frosting

Happy St. Patty’s everybody! I didn’t go bar hopping or anything like that, but I did bake a treat as a celebration. Need a hint? It has Guinness in it!

Before I go on to the recipe, my friends in Chicago posted some sick photos of the Chicago river dyed in green just for the occasion, how rad is that! Here are some photos…

544092_10151286418222522_1351647038_n

c. Daryl Tham

64368_10151352601860886_773991262_n

c. Psych Shu Ee

Chicago definitely was green for St. Patrick’s!

So onwards to the cake that I’d like to dub as the Dark Chocolate Guinness Cake with Bailey’s Frosting. I always find excuses to bake a whole sized cake just because I love to see people gather in the same room despite their hectic schedules, to just sit down and have a slice of cake and play catch up. So this cake is just as any good of an excuse for me to do that this past weekend. A group of close friends came together and of course after dinner, this was the perfect time to whip out the cake.

photo 2

A word of caution, I assure you that this cake will not taste bitter like the actual Guinness Stout but it is more likely to taste like a slice of heaven filled with chocolate and cream. I promise. Here are some feedback that I got from the lovely people who had a slice -

“This is literally the best cake I’ve ever had” – M.

“I normally don’t like sweet (sugary) stuff, but… wow! I like this cake!” – B.

“The frosting is so good” – S.

“I can’t even taste the alcohol” – E.

This recipe is adapted from Global Table Adventure. I did modify the recipe from the original to suit what I had. Also, I took frosting inspiration from Nigella’s Chocolate Guinness Cake and decided to do a cream cheese frosting instead of buttercream. I just love Nigella. Anyways, these are a few modifications I made to my cake…

  • Instead of two 8″ cake tins, I used a single 9″ that didn’t allow me to frost the middle part of the cake.
  • Substituted the butter in the original frosting recipe for cream cheese.
  • Reduced the amount of sugar for the frosting.
  • Used normal Guinness Stout instead of Guinness Extra Stout (but whichever you like better is fine)

Dark Chocolate Guinness Cake with Bailey’s Frosting

photo 3

(serves 12)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 sticks butter
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
1 cup Guinness Extra Stout
1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/4 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
2 eggs

Frosting:

8oz cream cheese, softened
150g icing sugar, sifted
2-4 Tbsp Bailey’s, as needed

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F or 176 C.
  2. In a small saucepan, melt butter and whisk together with Guinness, vanilla extract and cocoa powder. Once dissolved, remove from heat and let cool.
  3. While the Guinness mixture is cooling, grease and line your cake pan (depending on which you prefer, two 8″ or one 9″) with parchment paper. Next, whisk together the dry ingredients (sugar, flour, baking soda).
  4. Once the Guinness mixture is cooled, pour into the dry ingredients, then whisk in the 2 eggs.
  5. When the batter is shiny and smooth, pour evenly into two prepared cake pans or in my case, one pan.

    c. Global Table Adventure

  6. Bake for 35-38 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean. (If using two cake pans, bake till 30-35mins)
  7. Meanwhile make the cream cheese frosting by whipping together the softened cream cheese and sugar in a mixer, then adding in just enough Bailey’s to get it loose and fluffy. Go slow on the Bailey’s and see the difference in color and texture of the frosting when it’s mixed in. I only needed 3 tablespoons of Bailey’s. Chill it in the refrigerator until ready for use.
  8. Once the cakes are done baking, make sure to cool completely.
  9. Once completely cool, your cake is ready to be frosted!

photo 1

Pay no attention to that peppermint sweet I decided to add to my ‘design’ at the last minute. But be creative and try out any frosting ideas you might have! I basically used a small, flat frosting spatula to even out the top and sides and created a continuos round wave for the top and did a slanted press with my spatula for the sides.

photo 4

Here’s a top view of my wave pattern

A slice of this cake would go really well with some Bailey’s on the rocks, or milk. Pick your poison.

Keep this cake in the refrigerator at all times, I know it’s pretty to just stare at a whole cake sometimes, but this beauty will treat you better if it’s chilled. Trust me.

Share this with a bunch of good ‘ol friends, and dish them out to your neighbors or even an enemy if you want them to like you.

Note: Tried it? What do you think? Would love to hear some feedback on how you did it and what you did differently or just anything at all! The comment box is located on the right side of every blog post title.

2 thoughts on “CookBook Series: Dark Chocolate Guinness Cake with Bailey’s Frosting

Leave a Reply

